Valentine’s Day Cake

I have been married for just about a month now. And my husband, J, and I both agree that Valentine’s Day is a little bit too cheesy for us. However, since it was our first V-Day together and was just a day before our one-month anniversary, I wanted to do something special. J isn’t too fond of chocolate, so the conventional chocolate cakes and desserts were out. This Tropical Coconut Cake recipe fit the bill perfectly.

Tropical Coconut Cake

I used Betty Crocker’s Vanilla Cake mix and turned it into a two-layer cake. I also roasted the coconut flakes to add a little bit of crunch and texture. I couldn’t find Coconut Cream at our local grocery stores, so made it from a can of coconut milk (here’s how). One can yielded just about two tablespoons of cream so my cake didn’t have a strong coconutty flavor.

The cake really does taste best when served cold. You can leave out step 4 if you don’t want it to be too sweet.

In all, it made the perfect romantic surprise for someone who doesn’t believe in traditional symbols of romance.

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Cake

Leave a Reply

