Homemade Strawberry Milk

Strawberry Milk

For as long as I can remember, I have been a strong believer in buying fruits and vegetables only when they’re in season. I think it stems from having grown up in India in the 80s and 90s, long before advances in genetics and farming practices enabled us to have whatever produce we desired when we desired it. In my mom’s kitchen, dishes were seasonal – sauteed peas, tomato soup and spinach and carrots will only be had during winters and the aroma of mangos and freshness of cucumber will only grace the dining table in the sweltering summers.

Now, being in the US, I wait all year for it to get warm enough for all the wonderful summer fruits to make an appearance at the farmers’ market. Even though J and I are not huge fans of strawberry fruit, we love the flavor in breakfast and dessert. But, all of us who have bought the juicy, red, picture-perfect jewels know how quickly they perish.

Chopped Strawberries

This was why I started looking for a quick and easy recipe for strawberry milk that doesn’t require too many ingredients or fancy kitchen gadgets. It lets you enjoy the wonderful flavor without setting a deadline for you to finish a pound of fruit and is makes for a great solution if you end up with a batch of tart strawberries. My search for the recipe ended here.

I had to boil the liquid for close to 20 minutes to bring it to the desired consistency and I blended the mixture before straining it since I didn’t want to waste the fruit and pulp.

Strawberry Milk 2

The end result was every bit as delicious as it looked. Give it a try and share your experience with me.

 

Leave a Reply

